
This just came through via email and it’s funny because 1) it addresses me as “President&CEO” (one word); and 2) it makes no sense and you can tell it was written by somebody in China.
I’ve found lately that the bigger this site gets, the more of these ridiculous emails I tend to receive (and ignore). For the record, if you do have copyright complaints, please forward them to kma@doobybrain.com. Thank you!


We have received several emails like this in the past. Most of them are claimed to be based in Hong Kong and are trying to squeeze Western companies who might want to register online in China by working this scam. After researching the appropriate response we came up with this:
Dear Sir,
You are a known internet and technology extortionist and I have CC’d the Hong Kong Police Technology’s Unit ( cpu-tcd@police.gov.hk ) so that they can review your claims and be fully aware of your efforts.
Reference:
http://wotnews.com.au/like/be_warned_about_wwweworldhk_scams/3374826/
http://jasoncalacanis.posterous.com/this-domain-scam-from-eworld-is-getting-bette
http://www.designfederation.net/blogs/be-warned-about-wwweworldhk-scams/
Any efforts to spam our employees, or any attempt to extort money from or representatives as well as any misrepresentations or claims by you that are fraudulent will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
We do not wish to engage in any business with you or your company and if we are made aware of any company or entity that attempts to squat on or infringe on our intellectual property law rights we shall pursue damages against them in courts of law.
This email and any prior correspondence from my company does not waive any of our available legal rights or remedies in any territory worldwide.
Sincerely,